Poets logo

her last supper / my first bite

I didn't always live here

By Dane BHPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
the author's applesauce pot

Actually, when I was

born, my parents lived in a small house:

cheap enough for the size and the way the cars

drove by like stormchasers, but

even that didn't matter. The yard out back had

fruit trees. Not many. At least one apple. This

glittering fact lives in my memory like a

half-raveled string

in my pocket: unobtrusive, forgotten,

just sitting quietly tangled until my mother

kicks it up. We are in her room,

losing time to shadows and disease,

my attempts to hold her here boiled down to

nothing more than a spoon and a jar

of my own applesauce. I have no fruit trees. My sauce is only

passable only when cooked down to a

quart of toothless mush, the store's dregs, the mealy

runts of autumn.

Still, she eats it, rattles the spoon past her

teeth, and the string in my pocket

unravels, reveals itself a golden thread, a

velvet, honeyed link from her

wet tongue turned

xeric - she did this once, for me. Made sauce from that

yard's tree. My first food. Her last: apples, honey, orange

zest and time.

Acrostic
6

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Love it!😍

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Lovely imagery. I love this bit, Still, she eats it, rattles the spoon past her /teeth, and the string in my pocket/unravels, reveals itself a golden thread, a/velvet, honeyed link Brought back vivid memories for me!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    This is so layered and beautifully written. I loved the line, "the mealy runts of autumn." Gorgeous work. 💗

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    So much talent 👏. This is such a beautifully crafted story - felt every word

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love how you tethered that string, beautiful.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Perfect! 🔤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.