Poets logo

Her Favorite Color

A small collection of my poetry inspired by past lives and past loves.

By Sterling Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

(Mistake)

It may be a mistake

Something I might regret

How could it be a mistake

When everything felt right

My mouth spoke of love

My heart beat for her

How could it be a mistake

When she in my heart

Felt so right

S.R.

(Something About You)

Something about you

The way you loved

The way you laughed

Never a silence between us

Ribs tired cheeks sore

Heartache and heartbreak

Something about you

Your voice

Your touch

Not a single stutter

The motion of our love-

Came to a screeching halt

Something about you

Never let me give up

S.R.

(Gone)

Where did it go?

The burning passion to belong

I searched my memories

For a smile

Sweet lies on the tip of my tongue

The bitter taste of a terrible love

The good in her forgotten

The will to love dead and gone

S.R.

(Broken Mirror)

She looked at herself.

Fragments of herself.

She wasn’t the same.

Since he broke her.

She was put back together.

Pieces rearranged.

She looked at herself

Fragments of herself.

S.R.

(Though She Was Broken)

Though she was broken

I held her pieces tightly together

I couldn’t fix her

But I made her feel not so broken

Pieces still remain

Some even lost

But I made her feel not so broken

S.R.

(Beautiful)

She was still beautiful

Despite the fire in her eyes

Extinguished by tears

She was still beautiful

Even with a heavy heart

I couldn’t handle the weight

She was still beautiful

Even with The scars on her skin

They will never fade

She was still beautiful

I will always love her so

Though she was broken

She was still beautiful

S.R.

(It Hurt)

I can’t breathe

I can’t move

So tight she held on

Her hands

Sand paper

Held my heart

Her grip tight

It hurt

Her love hurt

S.R.

(Flash)

I still miss you dearly

But now you’re stuck in my past

Who knew a love

Could move on so damn fast?

S.R.

(Time)

You brought more tears than a smile

I haven’t cried this hard in a while.

S.R.

(Toxin)

You were my elixir

You took the pain away

So I gave and I gave

Became an emotional slave

Still I smiled for you

You were my elixir

You used to take the pain away

You are my venom

S.R.

[Playing Ping Pong With Depression]

(read from top line down)

Sitting in the corner of her room

Head full

Redundant thoughts

A botheration rises

Feelings run down her cheeks

Her thoughts grow loud

Her heart beats heavily

Sudden silence an elucidation comes into sight

Move on.

(read from bottom line up)

S.R.

(A Thousand Pieces)

I broke her into a thousand pieces - Pieces smaller than the ones before

Her glass heart was dangerous to carry - I let her slip from my hands

A regret I must live with - She is gone

Yet still the last thing on my mind

The last one I loved - The last one to go

The last thing I wanted to do - Was break her into a thousand pieces

S.R.

(Beauty)

One look

One touch

One smile

Beauty of a girl can do wonders

S.R.

(Safe Within The Flame)

She sparked a fire in me

The flame burns bright

As I play with fire

I feel oddly safe

Like a cold night in the woods

Close to the warm fire

An imaginary cloak of protection waves over me

As I lay beside the burning embers

I am safe within the flame

S.R.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sterling

Hello There! I am a young author that loves to create short stories and poems straight from the soul. My favorite genre is psychological thriller and that is what most of my stories will consist of as well as some cute loving poetry pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.