Poets logo

Help Wanted

For Matters of the Heart

By LJ Pollard Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Help Wanted
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

“Help wanted!

An interpreter for matters of

The heart”

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Unsuccessfully

I’ve tried to learn the language

Countless times.

Though I am devoted

Practice my vowels, pronunciation, parts

Of Speech

I’m blind and deaf

Incapable of mastering this seemingly

Unknowable tongue.

Even if the perfect profile

Glazes across my screen, only

Calamity ensues.

If the one

Who entrances my mind and

My soul

If he were to a

Read my profile, alas, but

He won’t.

I’m led to despair of ever

Catching his notice, I’m left with

Unrequited misery.

The only conclusion I can draw is this:

There is a curse upon

My life.

By Jenny Ueberberg on Unsplash

I’m left with the eternal hell

Of endless swiping left

And right.

It’s all for naught,

This silly game of clicks

And misses.

Isolated, ostracized, left

Separated from all my peers

Am I.

Even a glimmer of optimism

Dashes away before I have a chance

To hope.

What others take for granted

So simple and easy to grasp onto

Eludes me.

An endless stream

Of my complaints

Drift heavenward.

A matador in the ring

I boldly wave my flag

Before You.

To provoke You to act,

To inquire, why are You silent on

Your throne?

As a Preacher of the brimstone

Burning kind, I declare my

Fierce protestations.

By James Lee on Unsplash

“Vanity of vanities,

Useless, worthless are these plans

Of mine.”

I can do nothing more.

Can I build my own house?

Decidedly no.

By Phil Hearing on Unsplash

That one who caught my eye

Across the “room”

Will never

Know of my existence

Return my interest or

My delight.

What is this, so sickeningly

Familiar? A friend I wish

To abandon.

This unsightly acquaintance

Oh yes, he has a name

"Hello, Disappointment."

By Dmitry Schemelev on Unsplash

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

LJ Pollard

As long as I can remember, I've been writing and sharing stories. Writing and storytelling, whether it be a humorous poem composed in five minutes, or an epic fantasy told over several novels, brings meaning and joy to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.