Poets logo

Hell's Basement

(2019)

By Tom BakerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

(There is a place in New York City,

They tell me is called "Hell's Kitchen."

I'm uncertain where it is specifically located.

Hell's basement, however, I've been to.)

An ancient black man, (and here I don't mean African black, but a minstrel-show relic from a bygone age)

Assures me his black pit bull is a gentle, docile beast.

But I can't believe it.

The decor down here is stark; white doors leading to cubby-like apartments,

Wherein unfortunate souls are domiciled.--(who knows, perhaps for all eternity.)

Right away I make the dog is a guardian at the White Gate, wherein a trapped soul might egress from Hell to Paradise.

But, as of now, the Painted Man says, "Everyone else down here loves him, most likely."

And I know that to be true; as in, a captive may, in time, learn to love his captivity, his captor, and that which first captured him; his folly, his unpardonable SIN.

(And, my, that term is left open-ended and vague...)

When the lights go out, and I know I am down here, in blindness and darkness and imprisonment,

With the Dog, that makeshift, poor-man's Cerberus,

I begin to panic. And pound the walls and scream. But this is Hell, and death, and the Afterlife. And what I asked for, all along. Or what I was doomed to.

Upon awakening:

I see a strange, cloud-like, shifting image in the air. Followed me upward, from Hell visions of a slumbering brain, to manifestation in the material plane.--a dream-being swept in from the astral.

A living shroud. A twisting, macabre, indistinct thing which seems to fold inward upon itself, dragging its skinny extremities

Into the cowering gloom.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.