Poets logo

Heinous

Nightmare from the Headlines

By Veronica ColdironPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
istock photos

Of the night, there is a sound.

Something evil is winding down.

I hear the wind whine through the trees

As a tangible blackness begins to breathe.

I turn, it moves, in that corner of dark.

The neighbor’s dog begins to bark.

I rise from the sheets, forgetting my glamour,

But as I grope for the phone it drops into clamor.

Back to my bed and my sheets secure.

I’m watching that corner, just to be sure.

I think it watches, but why would he stay?

If I close my eyes, it might go away.

(Observer’s Narrative)

Morning comes, the plague is gone.

Yet his memory lingers on.

He took with him, a virgin’s life,

Upon the steel of a bloody knife.

Her soul will forever haunting be.

And her body?

Covers down, the hanging arm,

the stare…

that does not see.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Oh my. Beautifully written, but heinous indeed.

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.