Poets logo

Heatwaved II

Sweating like an inappropriate analogy

By Brenton FPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1

another hot night

that goddamn light

still flickering

its mutated morse code

across my closed eyes

a random ballet

of light and dark

with each wayward waft

of my recalcitrant curtains

another hot night

but what do i know

i just want to sleep

i dont want to listen

to the weather girl

she is not helping

the fan on medium this evening

blows tendrils

of superheated plasma

across me

across my room

it licks my exposed skin

like a public transport pervert

it eddys

across my corporeal form

seeking my nooks and crannies

in a vain attempt

to dislodge the perspiration

but what do i know

i just want to sleep

that bloody light

stings my closed eyes

social commentarynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.