Poets logo

Heath!

In memory of Heath Ledger (Nov 11/08): almost but not quite meeting! But at least Brad and I will have something to talk about and bond over for years to come!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
One of Australia`s Country Flags!

Heath!

It`s gonna be awhile

Before I wear a cowboy hat

And ride like the wind

Across a desert plain,

For every picture that I look at

In the friend I`ll never meet

The message made so clear,

Dying over flags and Country

Where I sit and weep,

Year after year

Knowing we were meant to meet.

How do I live up to your legacy

With the pen that`s in my hand?

I sit with sword and shield

As the Swagman in my mind,

Waltzing with Matilda

Reciting nursery rhymes.

I lay down my guitar

And put aside my taps,

Then lay a top my corduroy

The right picture of you

Playing harmonica,

As I think of Nashville Tennessee

Divorcing the billabong that surrounds me,

Remembering the woods

Where I hung your apple on a tree

And screamed your name to heaven,

Knowing where you should be

Not saying Good-bye,

To the Tree of Life

In Calgary,

As Tilda chases crocodiles

Without your Daddy smiles.

So it`s gonna be awhile

Before I wear a Cowboy hat,

And ride like the wind

Across Perth`s desert plain

For divorcing the `Knight`

That haunts my brain,

In the friend I`ll never meet

Dying over Flags and Country,

Where I sit and Weep

Saying your name...

HEATH!

written by,

Jennifer Cooley!

(written on lined paper Jan 22/09)

celebrities

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer CooleyWritten by Jennifer Cooley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.