Poets logo

Heat of The Summer

Why life gets rough in summer

By Crissy CornwellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Heat of The Summer
Photo by Nathan Hurst on Unsplash

Sun shining bright through the window of my room, lulling me awake from my dream land; Causing me to overheat under my blankets as the air conditioner roars gently, trying to cool me back off as I lie there scrolling through my phone; Unprepared for what the day will bring, life gets harder in the summer; People tell me to get some sunshine to "help with my depression" but the sun mocks me with its happy, yellow glow; Summer is too hot and winter too cold, the air hurts my face and lungs; Trying to move elsewhere was an unsuccessful adventure, too far from those I love; Holding on to the dream land I came from, cooling off from the heat, I rise from my bed and prepare to battle the day; My struggle in my head is endless on these days, I want to be truly happy on my own.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Crissy Cornwell

Single mom, writer, singer, cat lady

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.