Poets logo

Heartbeat

A letter (of sorts) to my heartbeat

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
4
Heartbeat
Photo by Jair Lázaro on Unsplash

Heartbeat

slow down,

for fear you will

beat out of my chest;

for fear you will

tear away at my facade;

for fear you will

give me away;

for fear you will

beat so quickly one day

that the very thing

telling me I'm alive

will be the very thing

to cause me to die.

***

You cannot be trusted , heartbeat.

***

You race with the slightest changes

in my emotions.

You race when I am scared

and in like.

You race with the unknown

and anticipation.

You race at a person's physicality

and disregard their personality.

***

You are stubborn and a liar, heartbeat.

***

Twisted sob stories

tug at your strings

and leads my body and motives

instead of my common sense.

You like to cause me

nothing but trouble and pain , heartbeat.

***

So heartbeat,

I know who you are,

and I know what

you are capable of.

But know you are not

the first thing I will listen to,

because experience and advice

have taught me otherwise.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
4

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    I hope you and your heartbeat will become best friends someday . Excellent work

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    I've never paid so much attention to my heartbeat until I read this. Beautiful poem!

  • Gosh this hit me so hard because it was so relatable! Loved your poem!

  • TheSpinstress5 months ago

    So relatable! ❤ I love "the very thing telling me I'm alive will be the thing to cause me to die". We should never listen to our crazy heartbeats.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.