Poets logo

Heart Song

To A Friend Who Had to Go Too Soon

By Linda RivenbarkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Heart Song
Photo by Joshua Woroniecki on Unsplash

You know the song my heart sings; Each stanza you have heard.

You always could remind me when I forgot the words.

You picked up on the melody, and sang it back in time.

You understood the meaning of the rhythm and the rhyme.

By Michael C on Unsplash

And when I hit a wrong note, and sang my song off key

You always could restore it with friendship's harmony.

For thirty years you listened, and sometimes sang along.

You added extra meaning to my heart's special song.

By Julia Kadel on Unsplash

Though you had to go away, You'll always be a part

Of the Music that is playing in the song within my heart.

**

To my forever friend, Libby White Canipe, who departed this life on December 24, 2003.

They said it was heart failure. But her heart never failed to love big and care deeply.

Always in my heart.

**Written in 2004.

**Published on Poetry.com sometime in 2004 - cannot find it there now. I have the original written composition somewhere, but will have to search for it.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Linda Rivenbark

I believe in the magic of words, love, and tenacity. There is a world out there that needs to be explored, researched, and written out to try to make some sense of it, and to make a better place for the children of tomorrow.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Impressive inspirational poem, loving this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.