Poets logo

Heart and the Head

Poetic dialogue between the heart and the mind.

By Joe PattersonPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
Heart and the Head
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

What’s up down below?

What’s up crop top?

I’m the head and you’re the heart, we’re barely a foot apart.

Don’t start. I understand the importance of the mind, but without me as the heart the body is left behind.

People should follow you, but they need to take me too. They need to remember me when traveling to a breakthrough.

I understand your wits and there ain’t much to it, but sometimes when people follow you they tend to over do it.

You’re saying I overthink, but sometimes you over feel. Almost to a fault now tell me where’s the appeal?

The appeal is being grounded and tapped in with your emotional integrity. The mind should just let it be.

Maybe they need us both. Perhaps we can come together for common ground then a solution is found.

Perhaps they do and if so I’ll come and get you. Maybe it’s follow your heart, but take your head with you.

Mental Healthsocial commentaryslam poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    Oooo, this was an excellent take on the challenge. Loved it!

  • real Jema19 days ago

    Your rap skills are bleeding into your writing

  • Babs Iverson19 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.