Poets logo

Headlights

A poem about regret

By Dawnya Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Bumping bass and headlights

invade my space

reminding me

something so familiar

like I am in southern California

again.

The bright

headlights

illuminate my bedroom

THEY shine just enough to light up the pale grey walls

decorated with over sized prints by Lempicka

an annoying reminder that I don't have a social life

9 PM

and I am in my sweats and tee

messy bun, curled up like a cat

antisocial like one too!

I am

ready

to have fun

to live.

If someone

would

just call.

I say that, like I would answer

But ...

before

I was annoyed

by persistance

accquaintances

invitations to pubs and night spots.

The recordings

alive

buzzing

raised voices

sweat

and excitment.

I could smell the oppurtunity

as I listened

to the voices asking me to join

to have fun

to dance with strangers

to drink rum

to let the bass pound my chest like a drum.

I

never replied

then lied

about why

I couldn't be bothered.

I promise

now

if

you

reach out

I will be there

singing at the local pub

dancing with strangers

@ the local night spot

my eyes will shine

bright and wide

like the headlights invading my bedroom

my heart will race with excitment

pumping

bumping

like the bass

coming through my window.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dawnya

I write haikus and erotic short stories to share my experiences of being a woman.

Writing satiates my desire to create my daydreams.

Currently I am exploring how to mesh my paintings, photographs and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.