Poets logo

Heading Towards

My Home

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Heading Towards
Photo by Germán Rodríguez on Unsplash

I am heading towards a place ,I feel secure and safe.

Where I am compfortable, to go room to room,or see a familiar face.

Where I can lay down and have a good sleep.

Where my personal things are kept safe and neat.

Structures around me, protection from fear.

Relaxing and enjoying music in my ear.

Where my friends and family come for tea.

Where in my heart I can be me.

A place where I know , I belong.

Like John Denver sang in his song.

A home, or mine in this case.

Just isn’t a place.

It’s a feeling in my heart.

Together or apart.

When I am there.

Or above in the air.

I know it’s waiting for me.

To go back to where I love to be.

I have Victorian furniture in my living room.

A quilt being made on a loom.

Hardwood floors.

Dark wooden doors.

A garden I plant, flowers blossom each day.

Pictures I paint in a unique way.

Pillows my mom tatted for me.

A lifetime of love and lots of history.

Pictures scattered on each wall.

Antique furniture in my hall.

Books on a shelf, candles for light.

Large windows to make each room bright.

Historical but yet it’s what I love.

Just as much as the sounds in the morning of a dove.

Home is different for everyone.

My home, is a place I love and a place of fun.

The welcome mat awaits for you.

Feel free to drop by, coffee or tea will be waiting and always lots to do.

By Phil Hearing on Unsplash

HOME SWEET HOME

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.