Poets logo

He Was There

He was always there.

By hannah irelanPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

“she will be loved”

was there to wipe the tears

from my cheek when it was

2 a.m. and you were gone.

“makes me wonder”

was there when i was angry.

'give me something to believe in

cause i don’t believe in you anymore, anymore.'

you’ll never know how true

those lines are.

“just a feeling”

was there for the sleepless nights,

the nights when i lied awake, thinking about you

and how you’d already moved on.

“goodnight goodnight”

was there when i felt like i had no one.

he was there.

he stayed while you ran.

“back at your door”

was there when i was weak enough

to crawl back to you.

it gave me the strength to move on.

“story”

was how you made me feel.

the scars that you’d seen,

the pieces of me that i’d let you know,

you took advantage of them all.

“how”

is how i imagine you feel now.

are you searching for my touch?

would you kill to take me back?

i suppose we’ll never know.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

hannah irelan

24, treat people with kindness, always support the small joys of others

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.