Poets logo

He's My Dad

You showed your love each and every day

By Gerald PlummerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Dad,

Now that I’m out here – rubbing elbows with movie stars’ kids.

I can certainly understand why most of them have flipped their lids.

People are just people, I guess that’ll always be the same,

But parents are not always parents and that’s a real shame.

A lot of parents tell their kids they love ‘em and I guess that’s okay.

But if I remember right, you showed your love each and every day.

There were always potatoes in the skillet and food on the table, too.

You couldn’t give us everything, but you gave all that you were able to.

So-and-so has real estate or maybe a brand new car

Just because his daddy was a famous movie star.

I have something they’ll never have and I’m lucky that I’ve got it.

If their parents would have seen it for sale I’m sure they would have bought it.

It’s you, that’s all, but so much more than anyone else ever had

‘Cause I can say, “That man, that real man, He’s my Dad.”

For My Dad

May 1, 1984

Your loving son,

Jerry

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.