Poets logo

He Loves Me, He Loves me Not...

after the pride parade is over

By HeyItsPhephenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

He loves me, He loves me not,

Maybe He isn't quite what I thought...

Despite promises against global flooding,

From the mouths of pastors, hate is pouring.

Swimming in shame 'cause I couldn't keep a straight face.

Chasing false prophets, I couldn't keep up the pace.

He loves me, He loves me not.

Theology begins to fall apart

I love him...I love him not...

I dare not speak from the heart.

I see God in his face but he sees the devil in mine.

Got to be careful to not to cross the line.

The colors of hope set in stormy skies,

Now stirring fires of hate in their eyes;

Burning my dignity like the witches of lore

Singing of where "grapes of wrath are stored"

It's hard to be proud when my family could slay me

At the notion that some god said "do this to obey me."

He loves me, He loves me not.

They hate me, they hate me not.

Where is my father? Can he not see

This has always been a part of me?

Will my mother not care for the son of her womb?

No. She cries in the dirt; digging my tomb.

Hear from the earth the blood that cries

For those in whom hope dies.

Teeth break on teeth

Pain growing beneath.

He loves me, they love me not...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

HeyItsPhephen

A gingery ball of anxiety trying to beat inflation one story at a time.

Ca$hApp me if your feeling kind: sgreen2049

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.