Poets logo

He

Just a star in a universe

By VTPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
91.449 million miles away

He reminds me of the sun

I saw you smile at that

But just let me finish

He seems to live 1,000,000 miles away, but only in my brain

He seems so close yet ultimately so far away

And I love him for the way he is

I met 1000 stars like him, but none are him

It’s like a test of patience and time, waiting for the right time when everything aligns

Because you’re made of fire and you are drenched in smoke

And I’m afraid that if I get too close and breathe in I might choke

So beautiful from so far away, I think it’s a test of patience and pain

As you pull me in you repel me so far away

Was it my fault we are this way?

When we aligned before I pushed you away

Not because I didn’t feel the same, but because I knew a star like you deserved more than I could give

More than I could give

But I have a feeling I’m only in orbit

Am I mercury to your sun?

Or Venus, or earth, or mars?

Maybe I’m Pluto

A person so unstable who only rarely comes close only for moments in hopes that you’ll notice

Me leaving the pattern of my life

Traveling though space and time

Hoping to love the one I like

But you’re a sun

And simply being in orbit doesn’t mean you are the one

Maybe I am Pluto because I know your not the one

Because I know the feelings we share deep down can burn like a bright crimson fire

Like the one that burns in my lungs

It a test of longing and pain

Because I long for the day we can align again

But but I know your heart changed when I turned you away

slam poetry

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    VTWritten by VT

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.