Poets logo

Haze

New Friends

By joviePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by wild vibez on Unsplash

“Maybe you should stop,” Joey said. “Stop and

Breathe again. You don’t need this.”

I responded with a middle finger in his face and

A laugh. I would be fine.

“Don’t you want to impress them?”

I said. “You love looking

Cool.” The kids who laughed

Too hard in Sex Ed brought us

Here, where strobe lights and amateur DJ’s rule.

Some kids pulled us in

Their circle and handed me a

Cigarette. Their smiles were overwhelming.

But Joey winced. “Maybe you shouldn’t.”

I looked him in the eye and

Held the cigarette in

My lips. Not yet used to

The smoke, I coughed.

“Chill out, Joey.”

“Yeah, Joey,” some guy said. “Chill

Out.” Joey backed from the circle.

“We should go.”

Our new friends groaned and glared

At us, old friends.

“Can we talk?”

Taking my hand, he pulled me

Away from the crowd and

I pulled back. “What is your problem?”

He said, “This isn’t you.”

I shrugged, taking another hit of cancer.

Smoke floated up and he

Tried to wave it away.

“I’m leaving,” he said. “Are

You coming?” I shook my head.

He walked away. My new friends

Called me to join them, but

I turned away and lit another cigarette.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

jovie

I once listened to "Closer" by Nine Inch Nails for nearly 12 hours straight in an attempt to hurry along my inevitable descent into madness.

I failed.

#StillSane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.