Poets logo

Have I Not Earned My Stripes?

The colour of envy is my friend

By Ben ShelleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Have I Not Earned My Stripes?
Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

As red as the sun, my envy burns bright

Why did you choose to lose sight of what makes me unique?

Have I not done my time, earned my stripes?

What does she have that I do not?

Content is how I shall stay until my time arrives and I can break free?

Planting a seed, we can all grow a tree

An idea, a thought is all it takes to leave, to move on?

You could have had it all but instead, you chose the dawn.

A new day is here and it is one that I will not be a part of

Ventures past and ventures new collide where I will hide

Working for you will not be the same but until my dawn is here, I will stay by your side

Gliding across the days will not hide my face. Red is the colour and the one you must match before we can break bread.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.