Poets logo

Have Cash, Will Feel

Scrape Heartbeats Together like Spare Change

By Jordan WarrenPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The crumbled bills in my pocket

Will bring me many things

A free donut, a gift from the store

With walls green as a ripe and pungent lime

The color and smell of a blinding summer day.

The driver argues with his wife

His voice is thick and rich,

Velvet dripping over the steering wheel

Drifting across air currents and resting on my folded hands.

Music tumbles out the open window

Notes fall like crumbs on the cracked streets.

Finally, and most importantly,

The well-traveled bills jammed in my pocket

Bring me coffee, cold and oh so sweet.

Sweet like happiness

Like breathless laughter

Sweet like the way he smiles, only for me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Warren

University student || Poet || Adventurer || History buff || Bibliophile || LGBT

My writing deals mostly mental illness, LGBT themes, life as a student, life with chronic health issues and whatever else inspires me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.