Poets logo

Haunting

My Masquerade

By Sara Splendore Published 4 years ago 1 min read
3

Hands of ice around my throat

Begging for my silence

Moving through the hallways

Taunting me for violence

These haunted walls can’t keep me in

Though these ghosts surround me

Screaming, crying, wanting

How their melodies are haunting

Colored leaves fall all around

Breaking up the gray

If I give into the spectral whims

Will my memories remain?

Running through the graveyard

To where these ghosts have led

Wandering through the shadows

Masquerading with the dead

Foolish tears fall all around

Reminiscent of the rain

In these hauntings lost and found

I know here lies my shame

At last my mask falls to the ground

For the dead know my true name

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Sara Splendore

-Fairytales, fiction, poetry… I have been telling stories since before I knew how to write them on paper.

-Just a fairy, pursuing her dreams until the end.

-I hope you love reading my stories as much as I enjoy writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.