Poets logo

Haunted

A Poem for an October Writing Prompt

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 7 months ago β€’ 1 min read
2
Haunted
Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

Ghosts haunt me.

The ghosts of people I've lost:

to age,

to disease,

to disagreements,

to distance,

to time.

The ghosts of things I've said,

or things I should have said.

The ghosts of things I've done,

or wish I'd done.

The ghosts of bad days, heartbreaks,

some I've only recently been able to name.

The ghosts of opportunities I wish I'd grabbed,

of roads not taken,

plans and dreams abandoned.

The ghostly pangs of hunger,

neausea, shame.

Of habits I've tried to break and

a disorder I've tried to beat.

I wish they'd leave me be,

set me free,

just let me move on...please.

πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”

This was written for Prompt #11 on Chloe Rose Violet's October Prompts list:

πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”πŸ‘»πŸ’”

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this poem, consider letting me know with likes/comments/insights/subs/shares. πŸ’œ

If you would like to read more, here's another poem you might like:

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.