Poets logo

Has My Job Been Made Obsolete

I have successfully seen my job brought to fruition

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
14
Has My Job Been Made Obsolete
Photo by ketan rajput on Unsplash

Almost twenty nine years ago

I welcomed to the world my first son,

I have tried to be the best Mum

That I could ever become.

***

I treasured every stage of his growth

In tears when he ate his first solid meal,

As he was one step closer

To making my job obsolete, I feel.

***

But there’s no stopping the years

From speeding from one to the next,

He’s walking, starting school

Graduating, too fast in retrospect.

***

Heading off to University

Leaving home for the first time,

Dating, exploring sex, drinking

Partying, finding a partner in crime.

***

Blessing me in returning home

For a few short years,

Still dating his partner in crime

Drinking settled to a few beers.

***

Leaving home for the final time

To live with his long term love,

Declaring his love to her

An engagement ring thereof.

***

A wedding will be set

Within the next year,

The future is theirs

Their love very clear.

***

I feel that my job has become

Obsolete, a job well done,

He is no longer alone

He has found his only one.

***

I can gently bow out

Knowing I got him this far,

Taught him to live life

Graduated my shining star.

***

While I walk this earth

I’ll still be right here,

Should he ever need me

I won’t just disappear.

***

I know he is more than ready

For a family of his own,

I’ve taught him all I can

It’s his turn to stand alone.

***

The man of his house,

His family, his wife,

Standing strong

For the rest of his life.

*********************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Too beautiful!! Brought tears to my eyes. The next chapter might give you another job title with a many-splendored job description..."Grandma"!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.