Poets logo

harvest moon dreams

a poem

By JessiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
harvest moon dreams
Photo by Luca on Unsplash

I searched through the thick, tall rows of the wheat fields

From the roots to the heads,

I trolled endlessly until every grass was peeled

I stared up at the moon and cried for her intent

for any hint,

a sign

God, where is she? Where does she hide?

I crawled on the ground like a scared mouse

I desperately needed a warm house

Maybe a friend

Certainly a quick end

I could smell the dirt in the air

Sweat dripping from the ends of my hair

I remember clearly, my face was bare

My eyes were dark,

hickory brown

I wore turnips woven like a crown

I was thin, so thin and pale

I collapsed atop a scratchy hay bale

My throat itched and the sky turned light

The grass was water and I floated by

On my hay bale, I started to cry

Goodbye, Goodbye

Goodbye, Goodbye

I woke late in the cold night

Shaking in a terrible fright

The harvest moon burned with a red light

By Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Wonderful atmosphere you created, Jessi. The photo really enhances your poetic words. Thank you. (ps I was born in Oregon and when I was little there was a local TV show for children called Mr. Moon. Somehow always stayed with me.) Hope you keep writing. Be inspired under an Oregon moon.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.