Poets logo

Hard Life

By Tornvec

By Tørnvec™Published 3 years ago 1 min read
4

Hard life of mine to be colored and commit no crime.

Black mark placed on me by Neptune, king of the sea.

Drenched in impurities, lord purify me.

Cleanse my skin from the filth you soaked it in.

Brother and I born on the north side, drowning under a white tide.

Couple of class clowns, always fooling around, teachers tearing us down.

Saying things like “You two definitely aren't the brightest.”

They’d be right, but we'd never let darkness divide us.

I remember screaming “Geronimo!” as we dove head first into the abyss.

Using each other as a beacon of hope in the infinite darkness.

Brother light the way, don't let the flames fade.

Eventually the darkness came, snuffed out the flames and swallowed us up in pain.

Hit with an incurable illness, it left us in a state of stillness.

As we waited helplessly for the disease to spread, you were hit with a stomach full of lead.

Too shocked to make a sound, I watched in silence as you bled out.

I remember witnessing you take your last breath, I'll never forget the moment your spirit left.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Tørnvec™

With every word written, I breathe easier.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.