Poets logo

Happiness for a Week

Happiness can last forever or a week.

By Latiesha SilasPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It rolled around Friday

A little after payday

Pool hall was a May Day

For the people who didn’t know how to play play

Sweet charming brother

Chanted poems like my father

The things he’ll say to my mother before they made their beautiful daughter

Saturday was a breeze, I felt I had it all

Skipped the creep, it was all a crawl

In the bed I slept with pillows on my chest

Then Sunday Came, oh boy it was the best

I forgot about my past, I knew nothing else

Monday greeted me with a Good Morning lovely, my smile was definitely lovely

Tuesday plans were cancelled. So sad, but that’s okay because

Wednesday I was glad, to see his face in my home, would have been better if we were alone

Thursday was better than my last, we snuck in a park full of glass, with lights on the inside occupying mass. He held my hand, we walked and talked. Time was short but it was a must. Although it was cold, my heart was warm, from his presence of love, a very rare norm.

Then Friday Came, and that was it, the feeling I was feeling had made a shift

I cried out of frustration, like what do I do

To run the brothers off, dude I have no clue

Wine and heat was my friend, I looked up and said This Again.

Got a call and got fussed at and all &

I promise it felt like I was being punished y’all.

I thought to myself about maturity level, like why did you let feelings get the best of ya.

Tiny words replayed inside my mind

“Look at me, silly me, back in love again”

& believe me when I say that wasn’t even the plan

Pleasure snuck in front of business

But it’s my fault because I never should’ve kissed em, on that Friday when my happiness started, blame myself for being so hearted.

But it has ended now & I'm not even wondering how.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Latiesha Silas

The moment I see a beautiful, eye catching natural scenery; I try to catch it. I have a passion for how the world has its beauty. So I catch the moment and write down whatever comes to mind about it (poem or inspirational quote).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.