Poets logo

"Happily" Married

Because red flags look like regular flags through rose-colored glasses

By Shaye B.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Happily" Married
Photo by Sabri Tuzcu on Unsplash

Marriage

The end all be all

All pain

Was to end

A new life

Was to begin

Protection

Affection

Love

Was to be overflowing

The past absolved

Childhood issues resolved

Because I found the one

The one

Who's supposed to fill me with security

Only provides a shaky foundation

Promises fall through the cracks

Wounds reopened

With each and every stumble

And now I am humble

Once so proud of a fairytale

Only to discover the clock struck 12

Now I've trapped in a fairy hell

I've built for myself

Telling myself lies to try to ease

The torment begging God

Please

Turn him from the villain to

Prince Charming

Or rewind time to alarm me

He is no hero

But a wolf in sheep's clothing

Preying on the weak, desperate and gullible

Lonely and love-starved

With a hardened heart

He absorbs my very essence

To feed his ego

His wants, needs, desires

The utmost priority

And to keep the peace

I just concede

And give him all of me

For my sanity

I plaster on a smile

And while I'm coming apart at the seams

I make sure a smile

Is what everyone sees

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shaye B.

Welcome to my trainwreck. I'm Shaye B and I'm pleased to make your aquaintence. I learned to read before I could talk and learned to write because I couldn't scream. I haven't quite learned to scream yet so I'll continue to write until then

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.