Poets logo

Hangnail

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Hangnail
Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

I’m tearing my own skin,

just for a release from the pain.

I made this bed and here I lay,

again & again & again.

I create my own agony,

making things worse.

Building mountains out of molehills,

has become my curse.

I have to tug every razor sharp bit of nail,

and make it into a wound.

I’m causing the infection

and sealing my own doom.

If only I’d stop proding at the pain,

instead of properly trying to soothe it.

I could just leave it be,

stop bleeding, skin split.

I’ll just keep pulling until I bleed,

knowing to heal is what I need.

Mental Health

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • T. Licht3 days ago

    😢- that's hard.

  • Awin Stella4 days ago

    niceee!!

Josey PickeringWritten by Josey Pickering

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.