Poets logo

Half-lung

"lord I thank you"

By Gloria PenelopePublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Half-lung
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

I don't know how.

I wonder why I'm still alive.

I ask myself some questions.

I just want to thank you, Lord.

Thank you for the extra life.

I'm in my bonus years.

Thank you, Lord, for keeping me alive.

I know I should have died.

But I am still here.

With my half-lung.

The lung was complete.

But something terrible happened.

It had to remain incomplete.

Out of what I've been through!

I have half a lung.

I had no idea that lungs might become harmed.

Even without smoking.

I experienced abuse and was severely beaten.

It damaged my lungs.

I'm not sure how I survived.

I simply thank God for the additional years.

I'm delighted. I'm still here.

I'm still alive.

Lord I thank you!

Familysad poetryhow toheartbreakGratitude
4

About the Creator

Gloria Penelope

Every creative piece is just me telling a story. Enjoy my creative writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Amazing 🤩 very well written

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Oh it is a different perspective. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.