Poets logo

Haiku Honey?

A Vocal Social Society Competition for the Weekend #Warning!!! Puns are running wild and free within!

By Caroline JanePublished 8 months ago β€’ 2 min read
30
Haiku Honey?
Photo by Benyamin Bohlouli on Unsplash

I am salivating already in anticipation of the fruits of this challenge!

(you were warned!)

To invigorate our collective juices, I have been charged with dishing up a challenge as part of the wonderful smorgasbord of VSS micro-challenges that the dedicated admins and group members put together each week.

Over the weekend, I invite you to join us at our virtual VSS table and share with us a Haiku canape of your own creation. Then, all you need to do is sit back, relax and sample all the other haiku appetisers that our wonderful group of creators will bring and share.

I am hungry just thinking about it!

I am sure that out amongst us is a delectable and sumptuous collection of Haiku canapes just waiting to be devoured!

There's more...

After cooking up a storm and feasting on the fayre crafted by our prodigious party of guests, I am going to close all the comments on the thread, and for two days, we shall hold a secret ballot to vote for who we want to crown our Honorary Hors d'oeuvres Haiku Hero (yes, yes, quite the mouthful!).

The voting will be open to the whole VSS group whether they put in an entry or not (because not everyone has the headspace to create, but maybe they could find the time to cheer others on!)

There will be three winners, each receiving a cash prize (paid through Vocal's stripe):

1st place = $5

2nd place = $3

3rd place = $2

All you have to do to be in with a chance of winning the quadruple H crown is:

1. Publish your haiku on Vocal

2. Add a link to your haiku in the comments of the pinned thread for this challenge at the top of the Vocal Social Society Facebook Group Page. (press for link)

3. Complete BOTH of the above before Monday 18th September 10 pm GMT when the comments for this challenge thread will close.

Details for how to vote and timescales will be released after the thread has closed, votes will be collected in over circa 48hours, and winners will be announced the following weekend.

Come and join the fun!

Maybe you will be serving our dish of the day!

Note...Feel free to add any garnishes you like - we welcome pictures, author notes, emoji, and anything whatsoever that may season and bring your haiku food morsel to life. This is a light-hearted, getting-to-know-you, fun and frolics kind of get-together. No more than that.

Final note:

I am sitting at my kitchen table putting this together, the sun is shining, birds are singing, and I can see no trolls in sight. I really want to keep it that way.

This competition is a light-hearted, friends sat around a fondue affair, the food can be as heavy or as light as you like, but the proceedings, the honorary title, and the winnings are all only for laughs, love, and hugs.

Now, come on, I am hungry! - Drop what's cooking below and let's get tasting!

By Nathan Fertig on Unsplash

inspirational
30

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert8 months ago

    Can't believe I missed this AND I'm an admin...I had the perfect haiku already written! lol Dang!! HEAD SLAP HERE! Love this idea though! Can't wait to see the crowned!!

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    ... and my second one is: https://vocal.media/poets/toast-y71wo0gu2

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Last minute as usual, I have two to offer. One is: https://vocal.media/poets/watermelon-zz19208vr

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Here's my morsel: https://vocal.media/poets/once-it-s-scone-it-s-gone Great challenge!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    SO fun! here's my 17 syllable sammie: https://vocal.media/poets/toastie

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Thoughts of food churning in the cauldron of my mind... Huh? Oh, I have some ideas...

  • https://vocal.media/poets/lust-for-coconuts I couldn’t resist this one Caroline ❀️✨ I don’t have Facebook, though. Would you be at all willing to post it there on my behalf? πŸ™β€οΈβœ¨

  • Lol, that quadruple H is definitely a mouthful! I'll see if I can come up with anything!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Interesting challenge. Just learning about this group, or maybe I heard about it b4. Just joined, will check it out.

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    spent all morning telling myself to focus on my WIPs...then this comes along and I open up a new doc....

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Sweet!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • JBaz8 months ago

    I may have to try and dabble a bit, this one seems tasty

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Oh I’ll join in the fun!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    haha! this is a fun one! Going to have to see what I can come up with hmmmmm

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Sounds fantastic ✨πŸ”₯🌞

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    What an irresistibly scrumptious challenge! Let me ponder it over a slice or ten of toast and jam, lol. Thank you.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is a great challenge...as I am not on the Facebook at the moment...well not actively on it...I shall have to take a pass on it, but I shall read any and comment on any I come across through Vocal! Well done on a cool challenge, Caroline!

  • Test8 months ago

    Love this! Great challenge! Though I am diabolically bad at counting syllables. Sme reason I don't bake -too much number stuff 🀍 But will give it a go, I know I won't be able to resist!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Yay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.