Poets logo

Haiku for Inside the Cocoon

A Series

By Joelle E🌙Published 10 months ago 1 min read
12
Haiku for Inside the Cocoon
Photo by Vasily Kozorez on Unsplash

Inside the cocoon

The dark feels heaviest right

Before light enters

.

Everything I thought

Was wrong about myself was

Just my own shadow

.

They see the blooming

But not the waiting; long years

Spent under the ground

.

Every cell in my

Body wants to sing out, but

Life whispers: “Not yet”

.

I have spent my life

Here but not present, except

When the light hits me

.

Gold glue fills the cracks

Between who I used to be

And who I am now

.

Cherry blossoms on

A barren tree in winter

The first signs of spring

.

Sitting in silence

Devouring the first sips of

Dawn like medicine

.

On the precipice

As the wave finally crests–

A new beginning

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Every line of this is gorgeous and filled with talent!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Such a hopeful new beginning, too. I enjoyed this.

  • Gold glue was my favourite part of these sets of Haiku! You did such a magnificent job on this!

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    A magically profound poem, Joelle. Brilliant work!

  • Alexandria Stanwyck10 months ago

    This is beautiful! This made me feel like I was inside the cocoon, waiting for the time when I could out in the world, changed and made a new.

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    "Gold glue" is beautiful imagery, Joelle! A lovely piece.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is wonderfully done. Hits deep and made me think. Loved it.

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Brilliant writing. And on a personal note… I **needed** this today! Thank you 🙏 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.