Poets logo

Guilty

watching the world burn

By Desiray JPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Guilty
Photo by Sean Pollock on Unsplash

I don’t want to be categorized as ignorant.

But how do people endure all the media?

How do you pay attention without feeling so hurt, helpless, and guilty?

How do you pay attention when it’s everywhere?

Guilty because it wasn’t you.

Guilty because it wasn’t them.

Guilty because you’re standing in the break room watching it

on the news while they stand at the scene.

While they plan a funeral.

While they try to fight.

It could easily be you

and them in the break room instead.

I’m not ignorant

But I’m scared

How do you live wishing you were there?

You wanna ask why, but it ain’t no good

You wanna contribute, but who is it for

Them or you?

I stand with my coffee cup by the tv

I should drop this cup, or maybe

Throw it at the wall

But it ain’t no good

I go back to my desk to feel grateful that

It wasn’t me or them

But oh, how easily it could be

And the day could be inevitable

Or tomorrow.

slam poetryart

About the Creator

Desiray J

I love words, and how powerful they are even when we don’t know what to say. They speak for us.

Happy to be here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Desiray JWritten by Desiray J

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.