Poets logo

growing place

a poem

By Lauren KathleenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

here, will always be my growing place.

the house with the white picket fence,

and the room with mauve-painted walls

they used to be pink but then I ‘grew up’.

but prickling skin and one dry tongue later,

I’m not sure how much more I can grow.

these walls are feeling a lot more like walls as

I tangle like roots in a too-small flower pot.

cramped and contorted, there’s a giant in my chest,

crouched and clawing at my insides, rattling

my rib cage like the bones are a cell, tortured

from hearing the same song so many times.

one day I will grow into someplace, where I can

take up more space, that will fit the giant in my chest.

but right now her skull might crack the ceiling

if she stood up too tall, so I can’t let her out (sorry).

my feet don’t touch the ground here anymore.

gravity’s grip isn’t strong enough to hold me

as I drift, I drift… adrift I exist inconsequentially –

I’m not making footprints here anymore.

my heart is still here, at home, settled and

comfortable and warm, awoken each morning

by a soft knock at my door, but in dreams I reach

for bigger hands, to pull me into something more.

there is a place for me – a new growing place,

where I will start on a windowsill so I get enough sun.

I have dreams waiting outside the turn of a doorknob,

I just have to find the key. I know there is a place for me –

not just somewhere I live, but somewhere that’s mine.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.