Poets logo

Grounded

Rooted in the earth, from the day of our birth.

By R.L. Lynn Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Grounded
Photo by Jenna Beekhuis on Unsplash

It's said we can find ourselves in the stars:

Our strengths, our flaws, and even our scars.

We search for answers within the Great Divine,

Desperate for the certainty for which we all pine.

But does my sign really hold the key?

And if so, what truths will it reveal about me?

Virgo is my sign and Earth is my element;

But it remains to be seen if that is at all relevant.

Consider me a skeptic, I do have my doubts

As to what this astrology fuss is really all about.

But I shall investigate the traits of my sign

And discover the ones with which I align.

Virgos are diligent, observant and keen;

They appreciate a controlled, and established routine.

These are traits that resonate, I must admit;

For they describe my character more than a little bit.

It’s good to prepare, and to be at the ready,

For those moments in life that can feel quite unsteady.

A Virgo is eager to lend a helping hand,

To take those service jobs that are in high demand.

They are caring and loyal, compassionate and kind,

And will happily donate much of their time.

It is fair to say, that I have traveled this path;

Having spent eleven years teaching high school math.

Humility is another trait, it is said Virgos possess,

As they will often try to minimize any type of success.

They are also quite sensitive, their hearts ready to bleed

To help out a friend, or any family member in need.

With this I can sympathize, as it's difficult to combat

The tears that so easily fall at the drop of a hat.

Virgos are thought to be meticulously clean,

Hyper aware about food, and their own hygiene.

This is where we differ most, the Virgo and I,

As I sit at my desk with the papers piled high.

I could care less about germs, bacteria or spores;

I would eat that dropped chip that has fallen on the floor.

These are all positive features, so that’s well and good;

But to say Virgos are perfect, would be one brazen falsehood.

Virgos can be critical, and sometimes quite severe;

Two traits that can stem from having a lot of fear.

They insist on perfection and will put up a fight;

To ensure that the outcome will turn out just right.

Sometimes the Virgo can be caught being too humble;

Which can then be a catalyst for their confidence to crumble.

Too desperate to please and impress society

Can lead the Virgo to have a great deal of anxiety.

For myself, I’ll admit, it can be quite rough

When those thoughts creep in that I'm not enough.

One piece of advice for the Virgo lovelorn:

It’s always wise to partner with Taurus or Capricorn.

These are the signs that will cause the least strife;

And will bond with Virgo to form a beautiful life.

If this is true, my situation is quite precarious;

For I went and married a true Sagittarius!

So what do I believe? Well, I’m still on the fence

As to whether this is fate or just a giant coincidence.

It’s true that there are traits of Virgo I share;

But the question remains...Do I really care?

I loathe to be classified, and am not at all inclined

To be put in a box, and so easily defined.

One thing that has been shown throughout our history

Is that humans are complicated, and chock-full of mystery.

We are subject to change, and with luck we will grow;

But who we will become, there is just no way to know.

So we can study the planets, the stars and the charts;

But I believe it's the not-knowing, that is by far the best part.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

R.L. Lynn

I am a high school math teacher, salsa dancer and aspiring writer. I enjoy all types of writing, but especially fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.