Poets logo

Ground Zero (Life With ADHD)

Living with ADHD is difficult to say the least. It's hard to understand from both the inside and outside perspectives. It’s very discouraging to be misunderstood to the point where one questions every aspect of themself. Also, I imagine that it is actually frustrating for both people who live with ADHD and people who live without it, and for each their own personal reasons. Within 'Ground Zero' I reference 'These Walls' and 'My Imaginary Enemy.' I hope to shed some light, understanding and hope that some acceptance can come as a result. As note, what I've written here is just from my own personal experiences with ADHD. ADHD overall is a very large basket that affects all people who have it, children and adults, differently.

By Josh MorganPublished 13 days ago 2 min read
1
Ground Zero (Life With ADHD)
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Faces

Voices

Surrounded but spacing out

Dreaming of my own space

A place where there's a place for each

Where no one can't be reached

"Are you listening?!"

"Oh, sorry I spaced out a little..."

"Is it that hard to pay attention?!"

They're speaking gibberish...

Everyone's on the same page but me-

When really, we're just reading different books

In the same world, but with different outlooks

"No I just..."

"You're being disrespectful."

"No I'm just..."

Do I have to be sorry at times I'm lost?

I'm insensitive?

Make it make sense

I hate being misunderstood

"Helloooo, c'mon get with the program!"

"You can't remember anything, can you?"

I know I'm not stupid-

But sometimes I can't truly convince myself

"You just need more discipline!"

"Is that what you think?"

I'm not lazy-

But I always have to prove it

As if they refuse to see any good in me

I'd rather they just not at all notice me

"Why can't you sit still?"

"Sorry, I'm uncomfortable."

"We'll it's bothering me..."

The problem's always me

The ignorance never ceases to amaze me

They're all their own reason-

Why I keep these walls around me

With nothing beside me but my brutal honesty

There's no more apologies coming from me

"Sometimes it's hard to stand you..."

"Then stop trying to. No one's forcing you."

Because they only see the bad in me

I cant stand how they misunderstand me

The lot of them just want to take a shot at me

The absence of any accuracy is saddening

They can see, but never notice me

They're the ugliness I see in me-

Who gave birth to my imaginary enemy

And made me hate the mirror

So, let me reflect to them what is says to me

"I'm being mean??"

She must not own a mirror-

So she screams into the one I hold in front of her

"I'm inconsiderate??"

"Last week you asked if I were illiterate..."

Inconsiderate- He thinks that isn't

Maybe he doesn't know any different

His confusion is almost innocent-

But this isn't bliss- I'm fresh out of forgiveness

"What if I asked if your ignorance is deliberate?"

I know it isn't it

Why do I give them the benefit of the doubt when their doubt gave me no benefit

Where's the end of it?

My tolerance has reached its limit

I'm not one with boundless grace

But, I have guilty pleasure in feeding them their own medicine

I'm no better than them

But I was never trying to be-

"Can you at least try to understand me?"

I'm the bar constantly out of reach

Trying to-

Escape the sea of voices below me

The maze of glares I cannot navigate

The road of judgment I somehow always find myself traveling

Within these walls of misunderstanding

Where I'm standing, this is Ground Zero

__________________________________________________

FOR CONTEXT, there's conversation taking place within the writing; the words within quotation marks ("") that are bold are from the perspective outside of ADHD, the words within quotation marks that are bold and italicized are from the perspective inside ADHD.

sad poetrysocial commentaryRequest Feedbackperformance poetryMental Healthinspirational
1

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam13 days ago

    👏👏👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.