Poets logo

Grocery Shopping

Distraction Breeds Humanity

By LM SegalPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Two Women Shopping | Photo Source: Good Housekeeping

Didn't I?

It must've been Mary, she caught me by surprise...

Scary thing, 25 years since graduation! Can you believe it?

Turned her shopping cart right into me, busy looking for jam.

Runs the beauty parlor now, like she always wanted.

Almost married that awful Ron, but she ended up with a real nice man.

Could've talked to her for hours! Felt just like a teenager again!

Told her all about my work, the kids, and my neurotic husband that keeps me busy. Oh! You know I'm just teasin'!

I'm having lunch with her next week. Lucky bumping into her!

Oh shoot! What did you ask again?

No, honey, I forgot to buy the milk.

performance poetryvintagesocial commentary
1

About the Creator

LM Segal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ava Mack11 months ago

    I love this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.