Poets logo

Grins Of The Sea

A Dolphin Villanelle

By DaphsamPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
12
Author's Photo

I am the friendliest of mammals in the sea.

With a huge toothy grin,

My smiles are given free.

Yet, my dorsal fin could strike fear like a stinging bee.

Just don’t confuse me with a deadly Shark's fin.

I am the friendliest of mammals in the sea.

A sleek body that cuts to a tee,

Through water like a harmoniously swig of zesty gin.

My smiles are given free.

My skin is as smooth, not like a rough knee,

More like a martini glass, filled with sweet vermouth, with a spin.

I am the friendliest of mammals in the sea.

My elegance comes from my grace, like afternoon tea.

Allow freedom for me to play, for all nature wins.

My smiles are given free.

Children love me for my personality which is so carefree.

Watch me in the deep blue sea with a peaceful grin.

I am the friendliest of mammals in the sea.

My smiles are given free.

performance poetrynature poetryinspirational
12

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleran5 months ago

    Lovely villanelle 💙

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Aww sah-WEET! Gotta love dolphins! Perfect Villanelle subjects 😁

  • Really liked this one. Just realized I hadn’t subscribed to you.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Nicely written! I love my dolphys!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    They truly are beautiful creatures. Nicely done.

  • My first villanelle was a mess. I keep to a set number of syllables on every line. The format of this is perfect and great fun, and maybe even a Top Story.

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    I am in two minds about this. First and foremost, it's a beautiful and fun little poem. I am not a fan of dolphins though. But...yeah, loved the poem, less the subject matter. :)

  • I wish I can hug a dolphin one day 🥰🥰🥰 Loved your Villanelle!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🤍💙🖤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.