Poets logo

Grief's Long Shadow

Coping with grief

By Vivid MasonganyikaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Grief's Long Shadow
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

In the quiet of the night,

When darkness falls like a shroud,

I feel the weight of grief descend,

And hear its mournful sound.

It creeps into my heart and soul,

And casts a shadow long and deep,

A constant reminder of what's lost,

And what I cannot keep.

Memories flood my mind,

Of days that once were bright,

Of laughter, love, and joy abound,

Now dimmed by sorrow's blight.

The tears they flow like rivers wide,

As I long for what's no more,

And in the silence of my grief,

I feel my heart implore.

Why must life be so fleeting,

Why must love be so brief,

Why must death steal away those we love,

Leaving us with only grief.

The pain it never fades away,

No matter how much time has passed,

It lingers on, a constant ache,

A wound that cannot be masked.

And so I live with grief's long shadow,

A companion to my soul,

A reminder of what's been lost,

And what I cannot control.

But though the darkness seems unending,

And the sadness too hard to bear,

I hold on to the hope that one day,

The sun will shine again, bright and fair.

And in that moment, though the grief remains,

I'll find a way to carry on,

For life is meant to be lived and loved,

Even when grief's long shadow's drawn.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Vivid Masonganyika

Hi there! My name is Vivid, and I'm a professional comic writer based in Zimbabwe. I'm passionate about comics, health research, and love stories, and I love sharing my knowledge and experiences with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.