Poets logo

Gravity

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
12
Gravity
Photo by Free Nature Stock on Unsplash

You say my freckles are like stars.

For once, I see them as they are:

Windows to my truest face

Not symbols of my past disgrace

So many times I’ve looked at me

And seen what others couldn’t see

But all this time, I’ve been alive–

Never been here to just survive

*

If I said it, no one would believe

How long it took to start to breathe

A lifetime, passed in happiness

But never in the present tense

Always anywhere but here

Avoiding my own gaze in fear

Of whom (or lack thereof) I’d see:

But she was always here. In me

*

How can time move in a circle?

Can colors change before your eyes?

Can you wake up to find

You’ve always been right here, before the lies?

Orbiting around the sun

As clear as daylight through the trees–

It’s been within me all along.

My center of gravity

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F12 months ago

    what a beautiful and an ever present 'so close so far' all at once but feeling. But ready to have it all gone in a second.

  • MT Poetry12 months ago

    Your poem is absolutely captivating. Your words have touched me deeply. Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece of poetry!!! 🥰💕

  • This was so gorgeous and uplifting! I absolutely loved it!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    This is beautiful and inspiring. It can take a lot for your true sense of self to emerge. 💖 That has been my experience.

  • ARC12 months ago

    Ah Joelle... what a beautiful, sweet feel this piece has to it. Strength with humility. Love it 💙

  • Ian Read12 months ago

    This was such beautiful verse! Nothing is worse than the feeling of hiding who you are and feeling inauthentic, I know that from experience. This poem was great!

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    So thoughtful and I felt some real emotions packed in this lovely poem. There’s no place like the present and this poem really made me feel in the moment. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.