Poets logo

Gravitation

The Hat on my Heart

By Danny GrangerPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am home when we pull off our trail-weary walking boots,

when you point to the tartan patchwork rug and turn on the news.

I am home when you draw me into your arms atop this windy world,

searching for the warmth, that memory of bliss.

I am home with every Rooibos teabag I find underneath my shirts,

locked far away in unfamiliar hotels next to ever revealing roads.

I am always home when the second verse of our favourite song plays,

on a radio in the kitchen of a cafe, championed loudly by the dancing chef.

I am home in your smile, the one I find in a thousand places,

half-recognised in strangers, familiar inside that leather wallet from Paris.

I am home breathing calmly, inbetween your words of stoic confidence,

whenever I conceal your ghost into my most feared meetings.

I am home every Tuesday, when the murder mystery series comes on,

gravitating there, no matter where I am or where you are.

I am home in the darkness, even though it plays tricks on me,

it hides my red wine, and how you will never be home again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.