Poets logo

Grass Tether

A poem of personal direction.

By Ashley BeebyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Grass Tether
Photo by Camille Brodard on Unsplash

If only the grass would grow and

Bind my feet to the ground,

Tie me to the soil and let me

Root my soul into the earth

So that I have a tether to secure me

Against the winds that sway me from my

Flight

In the clouds where my heart

Searches for the roads towards my goals.

But, if it were to break,

The wings I'd grown to battle the winds

That resist and threaten my direction

Would fail to find the roots again.

- A.B.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Beeby

Writing as a women and an academic in trade and as a creative in life.

Qualified Heavy Vehicle Diesel Mechanic // Sci-fi & Fantasy Writer // Poet

Check out my website ashleybeeby.com or follow me on instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.