Poets logo

Grandmother Tree

A villanelle

By Julie ChapmanPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Grandmother Tree
Photo by Adarsh Kummur on Unsplash

I lean lightly and closely to Grandmother tree,

Pressing my heart to hers, I close eyes to hear,

She whispers grand stories and wisdom to me.

She takes me high through her branches, as high as can be,

And shows me fern and tall pine, river streams far and near,

I lean lightly and closely to Grandmother tree.

Thin blue horizon stretches beyond what I see,

As birds swoop and dive on the breeze without fear,

She whispers grand stories and wisdom to me.

Within her embrace I'm expansive and free,

With deep roots I reach higher, and doubt disappears.

I lean lightly and closely to Grandmother tree.

Learn connection to nature, this is the key,

Learn connection to self, and to others sincere,

She whispers grand stories and wisdom to me.

Between inhale and exhale, the truth now revealed,

In a moment of stillness and just being 'here',

I lean lightly and closely to Grandmother tree,

She whispers grand stories and wisdom to me.

Villanelle
2

About the Creator

Julie Chapman

It can take a long time to step out of those limiting beliefs, and just write. Thankfully, the 'not writing' has caused just enough suffering to motivate me past fear.

I'm here now, my friend. I'm glad you are too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This felt so magical and was so beautifully written! Loved your Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.