Poets logo

Grandma's Sweet Potato Pie

Gone but not forgotten

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 2 months ago โ€ข Updated 2 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
8
Grandma's Sweet Potato Pie
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

I can barely remember you
because you died along with her,
and it's only her daughter who makes you now.
Something's missing, but I can't quite put my finger on it;
you have the same creamy texture,
smooth like the rarest satin
suited only for the highest of royals.
You still have that unique shade of brown
and I can see the specks of spice;
it reminds me of her freckles and stars in the night sky.
Your crust was always crimped and flaky,
so different from her.
She could not be compressed, forced in a mold,
and she made sure she was always there
until she couldn't anymore.
It all blends into this perfect sweet bite
of nostalgia, comfort, and home except,
except something is still missing,
and I still can't see it.
Maybe the thing missing is her:
"It was made with love."
It's quite bittersweet to think of you.
I miss you, I do,
but sweet potato pie,
I miss her more.

Odesad poetryFree Verse
8

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)๏ปฟ

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿชถ2 months ago

    So glad you got Runner Up placing in Poppyโ€™s March Prompts! ๐Ÿคฉ

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    I loved this very much, felt it very near and dear to my own heart.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Beautifulโ€ฆ -smooth as the rarest satin- ๐Ÿ˜ฎ What a great description! Loved your poem. I could literally taste and smell it!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    โ€œReminds me of her frecklesโ€ฆ such a special poem. Sorry she isnโ€™t there. My husband makes us sweet potato pie. ๐Ÿ˜‹ Loved your poem.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    This is a wonderful wonderful poem. I love how you addressed it to the pie yet in a symbolic way. It was so powerful. This would've been a great entry for the Ode to Ordinary challenge from awhile ago. That ending was extra impactful. The entire poem is so sad but sweet. Hope you're doing okay.

  • This was so sweetly nostalgicโ€ฆ โ€˜ Maybe the thing missing is her: "It was made with love." It's quite bittersweet to think of you. I miss you, I do, but sweet potato pie, I miss her more.โ€œ The blessing of a loving Grandma.

  • This was so poignant. Those kinda memories are always bittersweet. Sending you lots of love and hugs โค๏ธ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.