Poets logo

Graham Cracker, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chips!

A Brief Snacktime Sonata

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
7
Graham Cracker, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chips!
Photo by Anton on Unsplash

Graham cracker,

peanut butter,

chocolate chips!

*

Simple combo,

Nothing better,

Favorite snack!

*

Mother's go-to

Always perfect

To this day!

*

Every weekday

in the summer-

Gotta have it!

*

Graham cracker,

Peanut butter,

chocolate chips!

*

*

*

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

A graham cracker with peanut butter spread across it and chocolate chips sprinkled on top has been THE go-to snack for me ever since my mom first made the combo for my siblings and I. I firmly hold that, with a glass of milk, it is the perfect snack. :) Please try it and let me know what you think!

In this little poem, I attempted for each of the brief stanzas to follow the same rhythm with which we say, "Graham cracker, peanut butter, chocolate chips!" We would say that verbatim when referencing the beloved snack- with the word 'chocolate' often dropping to the only two-syllable version, 'chock-lit!' I think it's funny how simply blurting out the individual ingredients of this snack has become our primary way of referring to it - for example, one of us will just say, "Hey, do you want grahamcrackerpeanutbutterchocolatechips?" - so that's what inspired this funny little poem and its structure.

You may notice some stanzas have three syllables for the last line, while others have four. This is just a silly way for me to reference the inconsistency with which my family at least pronounces the word 'chocolate-' particulary when referencing the snack in question!

Thanks for reading! :)

For FunGratitudeFamily
7

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you 💙

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    The joy of sweet delights like this. Lovely poem!

  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    Now I'm hungry. I enjoyed the rhythm to this!

  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    I love graham crackers, not PB...I love chocolate, but not choc chip cookies. Your snack sounds so sweet. Oh those memories of eating without a worry. Enjoy while you can.

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    It's like a mantra! I wonder, does it induce a deep meditative state when repeating?

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    ugh im drooling, sounds delicious

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Very chant-like and rhythmic! Yum! Putting those ingredients together sounds delightful. Loved the poem and your note on its inspiration and your form choices!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.