Poets logo

Graduation of Purple

The way I have changed

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Graduation of Purple
Photo by Sandro Katalina on Unsplash

When I formed the words on my cap, my face was glowing

I ended my undergraduate with flowers growing

The navy blue gown emulated shades of violet

My ribbons turned into heels, my eyes were silent

----

I could hear the flapping of wings

Green dotted caterpillars, nudging the birds to sing

I traveled through my many classes alone

Even with a decaying mind, the warm light was brightly shown

In the end, I felt stronger because I had grown

-----

When I stepped into the immense twilight

I saw that I was a woman with passion, a life that should be known

Amidst the loneliness and the hardship I endured

I came to the conclusion that I was matured

-------

No one could take the purple shades that dripped down

They weaved in between long arms and my crown

I was emerging from the earth

The dirt hoisted me up, and I saw my true worth

There was nothing ahead but purple irises and grins

I had accomplished my love for science

Though it felt like the end, I was where my life begins

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.