Poets logo

Gracious

Recognizing Red Hearts Hidden in Pale Blue Polyester

By Julia SchulzPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Gracious
Photo by Jack Hamilton on Unsplash

Blue polyester!

Cellophane and thrust into hand-

I smile thankfully.

AFTER MY MOM AND I MOVED TO PENNSYLVANIA IN THE 90's AND BEGAN ATTENDING A SMALL CHURCH, WELL-MEANING PEOPLE WOULD GIFT US WITH VINYL GOSPEL ALBUMS THEY PRODUCED THEMSELVES DECADES AGO...ONES WE SECRETLY REFERRED TO AS "GUYS IN PALE BLUE POLYESTER SUITS." WE LEARNED TO SMILE AND SAY "THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR SINGING TALENT!"

I SUPPOSE PEOPLE DO THE SAME WHEN I PRESENT MY WRITING IN A POOR FORMAT!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Julia Schulz

I enjoy crafting poetry and telling stories. I especially love being in the "zone" when I take a deep dive with my subject matter, developing characters and settings and researching topics like history and sustainable living.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!💕😊💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.