Poets logo

Got a Light?

"To get going just a spark is all it needs."

By Kira StevensPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
image source

could you spare a little light for this sin

or fuel a little fire for me to find some breath to take in

do you have a little time I could take

to travel and mend all my mistakes

could you spare a little life for my senses

they're a little crushed up with cancers

burned into a bit of the time that'll tick

away while all feelings keep flying away

quick breaths I gotta take to get my soul blazed

will you hand over some help to hide all this haze

to get going just a spark is all it needs

so it can get passed out and around like car keys

to finally drive within me toward those flames I seem

to perhaps have burned all the way through already

so what now?

my soul might be charcoal

but that doesn't mean it doesn't know

what heat feels like from a heart beat

on the contrary there's just not

much left there to burn anymore

no flare: not numb, not empty

just transformed back into dust

like the rest of us did and will again

that shit's written

on literally so many walls

I couldn't count on my hands

but with my knees on the floor I pray just to be sure

that for another day in another life I might see

fumes flying high from some flames

burning inside me once more

Copyright © 2018, Kira Stevens

My site

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kira Stevens

Poet / Artist / Creative Enthusiast

website: words4food.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.