Poets logo

Goodnight

A farewell to sleepless nights

By Tegan TraylorPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Monster,

(living under my bed),

Your front door is my bedspread.

You have been a great roommate!

Perfect for a child of eight.

We've been together for four long years,

With you, I've shared so many fears.

You're always there when the lights go out.

You're always there to hear me shout.

I really do respect your art,

Without you, I might like the dark.

It's, because, I respect you so,

That I just thought, I should let you know,

My kid sister sleeps right next door,

And she just turned from three to four.

That's four more years of steady work,

Four more years to creep and lurk.

All her things are soft and pink.

An ideal place for a guy to think.

And boy oh boy, can that girl scream!

I would think she'd be a monster's dream.

I only want what's right for you,

And to my heart, I must be true.

And so for now, I'll say good night.

I'm plugging in my new night light.

Wishing you the very best,

From the Kid,

(who now might get some rest).

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer David12 months ago

    LOL!!! Literally made me want to laugh out loud. So cute and innocent yet the kid is a little monster himself. I reread it and I guess I'm assuming the main character is a boy. But anyways, a light read with a shady feel. This writing has effortless balance. Light and dark. I definitely enjoyed this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.