Poets logo

Goodbye

Trying To Heal

By Persephone MackinnonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Goodbye
Photo by Will O on Unsplash

My heart it rips, it tears, it breaks, Just one word now is all it takes. All the poison and all those lies, You turn deaf ears to my sad cries.

A man who won't accept he's falling, It's all too hard, though help is calling. It's so much easier to run and hide, It feels to much too look deep inside.

I'm watching you give up and give in, To this battle that you feel you can't win. I wish you knew you were so wrong, You've had that strength all along.

Blinded by your own self hate, Turn it around, it's not too late. Not for me, It's for you alone, You need to find your way back home.

Ive been running beside you this whole race, But I'm lost and confused, I'm losing pace. My heart is torn and hurts so much, Still desperate for your loving touch.

It seems so pointless here alone, The only contact through a phone. The hurt, the pain, the endless tears, Still here I stand after all these years. Loving a man who is too blind to see, How every thoughtless action affected me.

Self destruction doesn't destroy only you, It pushes me down and stabs me too. I stand back up wounded, I beg and I plead. But you turn your back and just let me bleed.

If that's what you want, to just be free, I'll let you go, I'll leave you be. I hope one day when light shines through, You'll see hard I fought for you.

I miss your voice, your smile, your face, I miss your touch, your fierce embrace. I can feel your kiss when I close my eyes, Our memories will always outshine our goodbyes.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Persephone Mackinnon

I have a Bachelor of Arts double degree in childrens literature and writing. I’ve been writing fiction and non-fiction, poems and so on since I was little. It’s my passion and I love it! Also a mum to 3 amazing daughters.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Persephone MackinnonWritten by Persephone Mackinnon

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.