Poets logo

Goodbye x

A poem about H O M E

By RanaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Goodbye x
Photo by Natalia Y on Unsplash

The avenues of my mind got your car tires all over them

Why are you taking residence in my mind as if it's prime real estate

I'm not your home

You don't belong here no more

I'm not your home

You can't come here no more

I remember when we were driving to your parents' house for me to meet them

It was clear that I was just passing through

I saw where you laid and made your bed

During all our video chats and phone calls

It was clear that I was not meant to stay

with you

Home is where you feel the most comfortable and relaxed

and safe

I used to feel safe with you

Because what is home if not a sheltering place?

And I thought I found a sheltering place in your heart

Turns out it was a rock

and I was blind

from the distance

A dedicated, protective space

To be shielded and sheltered from the onslaught of the world

But you were the onslaught

You treated me like a slut

A home is where you're protected from the darkness, rain, and grime

I'll erase you from my mind with time

What is home if not a recovery zone?

Where you can be who you are and collect all you own

What is home if not a healing place?

Not the place you come to be broken

And that's why I am shutting the door on you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rana

"A non-writing writer is a monster courting insanity." Franz Kafka

Here you will find a lot of random stories as I learn how to write again.

Thanks for visit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.